Gwangandaegyo Bridge

About Busan

About Busan City Hall's Role

Within the Busan city government, there are thousands of public officials working in various departments. The selection of Busan public officials is based on an examination that assesses their competency of administrative and civic affairs. At present, approximately 2,805 public officials work at Busan City Hall, with the mayor representing the city’s elected leader.

Every 4 years a municipal election is held allowing citizens to choose the best representative among the potential candidates who will work the hardest for Busan and its future.

The Mayor is the representative of Busan Metropolitan City externally and embodies all of the city's internal affairs.

History of the City of Busan

History of the City of Busan
Paleolithic Age Ruins discovered from the late Paleolithic Age in Jwa-dong, Jung-dong and Cheongsapo in Haeundae
Neolithic Age Scattered ruins (shell mounds) from the Neolithic Age in Dongsam-dong, Jeo-do and Yeongseon-dong along the coastlines
Bronze Age Scattered ruins from the Bronze Age in Banyeo-dong, Oncheon-dong, Nopo-dong within low hilly districts around streams
Iron Age Scattered shell mound ruins in Dongnae and burial mounds in Bokcheon-dong, Guseo-dong and Nopo-dong
Samhan Era, the Three Kingdom Period Scattered ruins (Ancient Tombs in Bokcheon-dong, Ancient Tombs in Yeonsan-dong) from the Three Kingdom Period
Year 685 Surrounding area incorporated into Geochilsanguk under the reorganization of the local system into the gu, gun and hyeon system during the Unified Silla Period
Year 757 Geochilsanguk reorganized into Dongnae-gun
Year 1018 Dongnae-gun downgraded to Dongnae-hyeon under the governance of Ulju
Year 1151 Jeong Seo exiled to his hometown of Dongnae
Year 1387 Dongnaeeupseong Fortress rebuilt
Year 1397 Busanjin established
Year 1407 Opening of Naeipo (modern Jinhae) and Busan-Po (Busan Port) for the first time.
Year 1574 Dongnae-hyeon upgraded to Dongnae Dohobu
Year 1607 Dumo-po Waegwan established
Year 1655 Dongnae Dokjin (Dongnae Military Camp) upgraded
Year 1678 Waegwan moves to Choryang
Year 1702 Geumjeongsanseong Fortress rebuilt
Year 1731 Dongnaeeupseong Fortress rebuilt
Year 1876 Opening of the Busan Port as the result of Japan-Korea Treaty of 1876
Year 1877 Japanese settlements in Busan established
Year 1907 Dongnae Branch of National Debt Redemption Movement founded
Year 1910 Japanese encroachment upon Korean national sovereignty
Year 1914 Busan Administrative System Established
Year 1919 An Huije establishes Gimi Yukyeonghoe (Gimi Scholarship Society)
Year 1920 Bak Jaehyeok bombs the Busan Police Station
Year 1936 The 1st Administrative District Expansion.
(Seomyeon area in Dongnae-gun and Amnam-dong incorporated into Busan)
Year 1942 The 2nd Administrative District Expansion.
(Dongnae-eup and Saha-myeon incorporated into Busan)
Branches in Dongnae, Saha and Suyeong established
Year 1945 Established Gyeongsangnam-do headquarters for the preparation of Korean independence
U.S. Army Forces Stationed in Busan - XXⅣ Corps (40th Division), 300 troops
Year 1949 Busan Administrative System discontinued and changed into the City of Busan
Year 1950 Busan becomes the Provisional Capital during the Korean War
Year 1953 Outbreak of massive fire at Busan Station
Year 1955 Population of Busan reaches 1,000,000
Year 1957 Implementation of the Gu (Administrative District Unit) System.
6 Gus (Jung-gu, Seo-gu, Dong-gu, Yeongdo-gu, Busanjin-gu, Dongnae-gu)
Year 1963 Busan reclassified as Jikalsi under the control of the central government The 3rd Administrative District Expansion.
(Gupo-eup Dongnae-gun, Sasang-myeon, Buk-myeon, Gijang-myeon incorporated into Busan)
Year 1975 Nam-gu created as part of the reorganization of administrative districts
Year 1978 The 4th Administrative District Expansion.
(Dajeo, Myeongji, Garack incorporated into Busan)
Buk-gu created as part of the reorganization of administrative districts
Year 1979 Busan-Masan Democratic Uprising
Year 1980 Haeundae-gu created as part of the reorganization of administrative districts
Year 1988 Geumjeong-gu created as part of the reorganization of administrative districts
Execution of self-governing administrative system
Year 1989 Noksan, Gimhae, Garak, Chenga and Changwon incorporated into Busan
Gangseo-gu created as part of the reorganization of administrative districts
Year 1995 Busan reclassified into metropolitan city from Jikalsi
Reorganization of Administrative Districts (15 Gus, 1 Gun)
(Yeonje-gu, Suyeong-gu, Sasang-gu and Gijang-gun created. Gijang-gun incorporated into Busan)
Year 1998 Opening of City Hall in Yeonsan-dong (moved from Jungang-dong)